New year, new leaf

I gained 43 pounds during my pregnancy with Anna. I don’t beat myself up over that number, even though it is on the high side, because I ate very well throughout (it’s true that your body just does what it wants to!) and it was all for a good cause. However, I started out weighing a good 10-20 pounds more than I wanted to, so that meant that I had farther to go post-baby!

I lost some weight right away, of course, but pretty much plateaued in March. In September I started Weight Watchers, which I would absolutely recommend to anyone. I didn’t want to go on a diet – I’ve done that before and it’s pretty hard to maintain long-term. WW is a great way to learn about portion control and making good food choices when you are at restaurants or parties, so it’s something you really can do for life. Both Seth and I have had success at it so far (him more so than me, of course – darn men!) and really like it.

We actually eat pretty well most of the time, but we discovered that it’s all about portion size. (I am sure this is not news to most of you!) We were eating lots of whole grains and not too much sugar, but we just ate waaaay too much of everything. No more.  I love that on WW, you can still eat pretty much any food you want as long as you are mindful of how much you’re eating and/or cut back somewhere else. And the point value thing really puts things into perspective. For example, I learned that a Culver’s Concrete Shake is approximately 40 points. (I’m supposed to eat no more than 24 points a day.) Yet a small cup of ice cream might be just 3-4 points. And here I thought that ice cream was ice cream! Apparently not.

So WW is slowly taking care of the food part. As for the fitness part, I had been trying to go for long walks in the mornings before work, but that habit unfortunately fell by the wayside. But last week, Seth and I started the 30 Day Shred. Do not be fooled by the fact that the workout is only 20 minutes long. It is HARD. I knew to expect this, since I have some friends who’ve done it and they all ranted that Jillian is pure evil. And they were right. But today was day #3, and it was much better. I almost did it without stopping, even. 😉

After all, who am I to argue with results like these? Seriously, that is impressive!

5 Comments

Filed under Wellness

5 responses to “New year, new leaf

  1. OK, that’s funny. I don’t know if you saw on the side of my blog?, but I keeping track of my status with it. I started it…hmm….17 days ago and have done 7 days of Level I, 7 days of Level II, and am now on my third day of Level III. I agree that it’s remarkably brutal, given that it’s only 20 minutes! So far, no weight loss but I have lost half an inch everywhere, which is making me mostly happy. Where I’m seeing a difference is in my core…not shape-wise/size-wise, but in control. So hopefully that’ll pay off soon. Core has always been my weakness.
    And I agree with you on portion control. All healthy food in my world…just too much of it. I got the portions under control maybe a year and a half ago and it’s made a big difference.
    Good luck! I’m impressed!

    • Kelley, that’s funny! I didn’t know you were doing this too. It seems like it’s the workout du jour. I am enjoying it! (Ok, maybe “enjoying” is not the right word. But I feel good.)

  2. Liz

    Good for you. I did day one once and couldn’t move for 3 days. Maybe Chris and I should start it together…ugh, death by Jillian.

    Let me know how it goes! We are rooting for you!

    Liz

    • Oh, I was NOT eager to do Day #2 (which was not the next day – I was too immobilized!). It is really, really hard. I bet you and Chris would like doing it together – it’s nice to have that support. We like it ’cause we get to whine and moan together about our sore quads and triceps. 😉

  3. Hey there, I was inspired by all my friends talking about the shred on facebook to pick it up at Target last night… you were one of those peeps!

    I finished day 6, level 1 today. It’s not as awful as I thought it would be – but I think that’s only because I was already about 2 weeks into working out using other videos with aerobics and strength training. I must say though, for the last 3 weeks I have felt my quads EVERY TIME I MOVE. Some days they have really hurt like hell, but for the last few days they’ve just been a bit sore.

    I’m feeling stronger, too. I can tell a difference when I pick up the kids or move in a certain way, that there’s already been improvement to my strength, which is great. Looking forward to watching you continue to do this! good luck reaching your goals!

Leave a Reply

